Medical marijuana licenses to cost Utah pharmacies up to $69,500
SALT LAKE CITY — Pharmacy license fees for medical marijuana will range from $50,000 to $69,500 depending on if it is urban, rural or home delivery, Utah state officials decided Tuesday. Each medical marijuana purchase will have a $3 transaction fee.
Doctors who want to recommend cannabis will have to register for $300 upfront. Patient cards will be $15, then $5 a month to renew.
These are just some of the three dozen fees discussed at a public hearing on Tuesday.
The health department says the fees sustain the program and cover administrative costs and to basically make the program break even. They think it will cost $1.8 million next year and $2.2 million the year after that.
Utah lawmakers increased the number of available private pharmacy licenses to 14 during a special session earlier this month.
The fee goes up to $69,000 if a pharmacy wants to do home delivery. It’s $67,000 for urban pharmacies and $50,000 for rural.
Read more in the Deseret News here.
Today’s Top Stories
- One person dead in three-vehicle crash in southern Utah
- State of Utah files lawsuit against pharmaceutical retailers
- Herriman mother saved by off-duty police officer
- Husband of Bluffdale mayor faces charges threatening city councilman
- WB I-80 shut down after a crash between two semis and a Utah Highway Patrol car
- 8-year-old boy struck by car in Riverton, suffers head injury
- 5 Ways You’re Watering Your Lawn Wrong
- Different abortion law now in effect in Utah
- Two people injured in Brigham City two-vehicle crash
- Fireworks and some open flames are now banned in Park City